Script requires admin privs, but I am an admin

(Chris Anselmo) #1

Something very strange is going on. I installed homebrew on my mac when I first set it up a few years ago, and suddenly I dont have it anymore. I found out that I didn’t have it anymore, because I suddenly didn’t have wine anymore, which I installed through homebrew. It turns out that homebrew and everything I installed through homebrew is gone, for seemingly no reason.

Anyway, I decided to just deal with it and reinstall homebrew. Well, when I try to do that, I get the “This script requires the user to be an Administrator.” error. I am an admin, however so I’m not really sure what to do. I have a feeling this isn’t an error with homebrew and something screwy with my mac, but I honestly don’t know where else to ask… If anyone knows anything about this I could really use some help.

I have confirmed that I am an admin by doing dsmemberutil checkmembership -U chrisanselmo -G admin (my username is chrisanselmo) and it indeed replies with user is a member of the group.

(Sean Molenaar) #2

What’s going wrong with the script that makes you think you aren’t an admin though?

(Chris Anselmo) #3

Well the error I’m getting is “This script requires the user to be an Administrator” which makes me think the script doesn’t think I’m an admin or I somehow don’t have proper permissions

(Sean Molenaar) #4

Does it fail with that message? Or does it just inform you that you need to be an admin?

(Chris Anselmo) #5

Here is exactly what happens. It’s the only message that appears.

(Sean Molenaar) #6

You seem to be using a non-standard shell. Can you try running this in the default bash shell?

(Chris Anselmo) #7

10%20AM

Yeah, I’m using zsh. I tried running it after switching to bash, still no dice…

(Sean Molenaar) #8

there should be the $USER variable from your environment there. Can you echo that one for yourself?

(Chris Anselmo) #9

34%20AM

Seems empty…?

(Sean Molenaar) #10