Need advice about Homebrew installation on i686

Hi, I am hoping to get Homebrew installed on my ageing personal laptop (i686) which is running an ancient Xubuntu (14.04).

My larger goal is to explore the possibility of updating the formula for Maxima. I am a developer and project admin for Maxima (http://maxima.sourceforge.net) and I also use Maxima and Homebrew at work on MacOS. Recently others have noted that the documentation in the existing Maxima version for Homebrew (5.43.0) is missing, so I have tried to fix the problem in Maxima, and I’ve created a new subminor version 5.43.1 with the proposed fix.

I could wait until the new package gets picked up by the kind soul who created the existing formula, but I am also interested in learning about Homebrew, so I am hoping to figure out how to make use of the formula-bump feature.

So, with that preamble, I have made some progress getting Homebrew up and running but I’m not there yet. brew update and brew install rlwrap yield errors about “can’t modify a frozen String”. Some searching seems to show that others have run into “frozen String” errors but I haven’t been able to find any resolution. Any advice on this point would be greatly appreciated.

Here are the steps I’ve tried and the outcomes I got:

• git clone <Homebrew URL>

• PATH=path/to/brew/bin:$PATH

• download ruby tarball (2.7.0), ./configure && make && sudo make install

• HOMEBREW_DEVELOPER=1 HOMEBREW_RUBY_PATH=/usr/local/bin/ruby brew update-reset seems to be successful

• HOMEBREW_DEVELOPER=1 HOMEBREW_RUBY_PATH=/usr/local/bin/ruby brew style seems to be successful

• HOMEBREW_DEVELOPER=1 HOMEBREW_RUBY_PATH=/usr/local/bin/ruby brew list seems to be successful (empty list)

• HOMEBREW_DEVELOPER=1 HOMEBREW_RUBY_PATH=/usr/local/bin/ruby brew install rlwrap yields large number of Failed to import: <some package> with can't modify frozen String: <some string> where <some string> is usually "JavaRequirement" or "ArchRequirement" or something like that