Homebrew Questions

(Frozen Clock9) #1

Hello Im new to programming and Homebrew so I am very wary of security issues.

I was wondering if Homebrew is safe for Macbook pro that has a Password Manager(Dashlane) in it?

Like will installing Homebrew compromise the security of my Password Manager and Macbook?

Im sorry if I sound paranoid :stuck_out_tongue:

(Eduard Rozenberg) #2

That is a very broad question with no answer. There are many ways in which machines can and do get compromised, including via malicious websites and downloads which can install keyloggers and screencap software.

If you want absolute security for a password manager, install it on a freshly wiped machine with networking permanently off, and don’t ever sync the data to any outside service. This is a serious suggestion some people actually follow.

Popular software sometimes does get hijacked. For ex. https://blog.malwarebytes.com/threat-analysis/2016/09/transmission-hijacked-again-to-spread-malware/

Regarding homebrew specifically, I’m sure they take all the necessary precautions to prevent their build machines from being compromised, but nothing is ever 100%.

In order of increasing amount of work, here are some things you could do if you choose:

• Install all homebrew packages using the --build-from-source flag. Slow. Homebrew is focused on pre-built binary packaged software, so if you run into issues you’ll have work to do and you may not get much help. -> MikeMcQuaid makes a great point below that you’re better off sticking with homebrew’s default binary package installation (bottles).
  • Review the homebrew formulas that install/build the packages you plan to install. Compare checksums and download locations with the actual source from the websites it comes from. Do this every time homebrew updates the version of the package source code.