Homebrew Install failed during: git init -q

(Johnnymag) #1

Hello, I’m new to Terminal so have relied on copying and pasting scripts - I finally worked out that the password doesn’t show after a sudo request and issued the install command - the following is what I got back after the final password input:-
==> This script will install:
/usr/local/bin/brew
/usr/local/share/doc/homebrew
/usr/local/share/man/man1/brew.1
/usr/local/share/zsh/site-functions/_brew
/usr/local/etc/bash_completion.d/brew
/usr/local/Homebrew
==> The following existing directories will be made group writable:
/usr/local/sbin
/usr/local/share
==> The following existing directories will have their owner set to johnjohnsimpson:
/usr/local/sbin
/usr/local/share
==> The following existing directories will have their group set to admin:
/usr/local/sbin
/usr/local/share
==> The following new directories will be created:
/usr/local/Cellar
/usr/local/Frameworks
/usr/local/bin
/usr/local/etc
/usr/local/include
/usr/local/opt
/usr/local/share/zsh
/usr/local/share/zsh/site-functions
/usr/local/var

Press RETURN to continue or any other key to abort
==> /usr/bin/sudo /bin/chmod g+rwx /usr/local/sbin /usr/local/share
Password:
==> /usr/bin/sudo /usr/sbin/chown johnjohnsimpson /usr/local/sbin /usr/local/share
==> /usr/bin/sudo /usr/bin/chgrp admin /usr/local/sbin /usr/local/share
==> /usr/bin/sudo /bin/mkdir -p /usr/local/Cellar /usr/local/Frameworks /usr/local/bin /usr/local/etc /usr/local/include /usr/local/opt /usr/local/share/zsh /usr/local/share/zsh/site-functions /usr/local/var
==> /usr/bin/sudo /bin/chmod g+rwx /usr/local/Cellar /usr/local/Frameworks /usr/local/bin /usr/local/etc /usr/local/include /usr/local/opt /usr/local/share/zsh /usr/local/share/zsh/site-functions /usr/local/var
==> /usr/bin/sudo /bin/chmod 755 /usr/local/share/zsh /usr/local/share/zsh/site-functions