Cannot get ffmpeg to compile with libfdk_aac - Mild panic setting in

(Videoeditorguy) #1

I am not a terminal power user, but comfortable enough to write small scripts and use applications like ffmpeg, which I rely on.

I’ve just tried to encode a video as usual and got the following error:

Unknown encoder 'libfdk_aac'

I never had that before and didn’t change anything. I then tried removing and reinstalling ffmpeg using homebrew with the --with-fdk-aac option. Didn’t work:

Warning: ffmpeg: this formula has no --with-fdk-aac option so it will be ignored!

Weird. I then checked using brew options ffmpeg but that doesn’t return anything. Then I tried brew install fdk-aac and it say that it is already installed.

Now I don’t know what to do anymore. I have to deliver a bunch of videos to certain specs and these include encoding the audio with the Frauenhofer AAC codec.

I apologise if this is a stupid question, or I am missing something obvious. As I said, I am not a programmer, unfortunately. And I am new here. But I am starting to get nervous and this seems like the most active place for discussion.

2 Likes

(Sean Molenaar) #2

Options for homebrew-core formula have been removed as they added a extremely high support burden. If you want to use a different configuration than homebrew ships you’ll have to maintain your own version of it or file a pull request with the project if you think the majority of the users would benefit from having this as a default.

0 Likes

(Videoeditorguy) #3

Thank you for your answer!

Unfortunately, I don’t know how to do either of those things. But I will look into what a pull request is and how that works, since I do believe that most users would benefit from having that codec. In fact, the official compilation guide even says:

You can run brew info ffmpeg to see additional install options, e.g. in order to enable libfdk_aac, which is highly recommended.