Brew Install Libtiff

(David070) #1

Hello there,
I am quite new to Python and Homebrew. I tried to install Tesseract with Homebrew but it couldnt install libtiff. So I tried to install litbiff with Homebrew and got following error:

Updating Homebrew…
==> Downloading mirrors.ocf.berkeley.edu/debian/pool/main/t/tiff/tiff_4.

curl: (22) The requested URL returned error: 404 Not Found
Trying a mirror…
==> Downloading mirrorservice.org/sites/ftp.debian.org/debian/pool/main/

curl: (22) The requested URL returned error: 404 Not Found
Error: An exception occurred within a child process:
DownloadError: Failed to download resource “libtiff–patch”
Download failed: mirrorservice.org/sites/ftp.debian.org/debian/pool/main/t/tiff/tiff_4.0.9-6.debian.tar.xz

So somehow Homebrew cant find the download file?! I tried to install it manually but that failed. Would be nice to get some help. thank you very much :slight_smile:

(Claudia) #2

Thanks for reaching out @David070, and for adding more details to your request.

So somehow Homebrew cant find the download file?!

That’s correct. The libtiff formula has relied on a number of security patches, which used to be downloaded from a Debian repository. However, Debian decided to remove those patches recently.

A fix has been applied on Homebrew’s side, and is currently being tested.

(David070) #3

Thank you for you quick reply! Would be nice if you let me know when its working again! Or how do I get to know? :slight_smile:

(Claudia) #4

@David070 One simple way to get notified is for you to browse to Tell Me When It Closes and click the big blue button there.

(Charles) #5

This same Libtiff fix needs to be done for the Libtiff section in the Wine formula. I’ve made the change on my system and was able to install wine without a problem.

(Sean Molenaar) #6

Pull requests are always welcome.

(Charles) #7